St Nazaire Raid Airsoft

stnz1

Back to indoor Airsoft after a long time! Played in an old bunker so I chose to kitbash an outfit that fits the surroundings. Decided to go for a No.2 Commando “Operation Chariot” impression, it’s not 101% as I used only gear that I already had available but I think I got pretty close.

stnz3

stnz5

CQB time is pistol time! ๐Ÿ˜ˆ

stnz4

Blasting through the bunker

stnz2

“English commando, give up, you are surrounded!” <- with heavy German accent ๐Ÿ˜‰

stnz13

Operation Chariot was a raid on the German held Normandie dry dock at St Nazaire in March 1942. The destroyer HMS Campbeltown accompanied by smaller boats rammed the dock gate and commandos disembarked to wreak havoc on the dry dock installations. The raid which became to be known as “The Greatest Raid of All” was succesful and rendered the dry dock unusable for the remainder of the war and years after.

stnz14

HMS Campbeltown rammed into the gate, delayed action explosives were hidden in it and detonated at noon on 28th of March.

stnz8

stnz10

Commandos taken prisoner by the Germans

stnz7

stnz6

Note the Commando “SV Boots”, I don’t have those (Fitting repro SV soles to ammo boots is one of those “I have to do this one time” projects…). Got some boots that look quite close dead cheap on eBay so they will have to do for now.

stnz9

stnz15

~ by m1pencil on December 10, 2013.

4 Responses to “St Nazaire Raid Airsoft”

  1. As always you take it down to completion up to the haircut & grease ๐Ÿ˜€
    I imagine the english dress to be as relatively uncomfortable as the german one to be in relation to the near perfect US webgear and fabric.

    • ๐Ÿ˜€
      Well there are US wool shirts & trousers too ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Personally I find the UK Battle Dress and webbing among the best pieces of WW2 gear I have used (but I have no problem with wool uniforms in general, I know that some people dislike those).

  2. Great impression!!! And the boots look pretty convincing to me. This just makes me want to get going on a British impression… Where is your uniform from, is it a reproduction?

    • Thanks!! ๐Ÿ˜€
      Uniform is repro, trousers are from “Panther-Store”, fantastic reproductions IMHO. Jacket is from “Soldier of Fortune”, many years old, I think it’s OK but not up there with the best. Used it because I was too lazy to remove the patches from my Panther Jacket ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

 
