517th PRCT Airsoft

sddkdkkr

Had a nice airsoft day with my buddies, here is a small series of pics of my impression. 517th PRCT, Maritime Alps

Yep, bad hair day ๐Ÿ˜€

fjkejhs

Airborne units in Southern France tended to have a really cool wild style of gear and uniforms + going camo crazy. A good example are the wool trousers being worn by the 517th in the apls, it was very common to mod the wools by adding the side pockets taken from M42 Jump Trousers. I have been planing on modding a pair myself for years now…ย  ๐Ÿ˜›

The 517th M1 helmet was also kind of special, it featured a custom chinstrap not used by any other unit. Unfortunately I forgot to take a detailed picture of it.

asdafff

Sitting around… being lazy…ย enjoying the view ๐Ÿ™‚

asddddddd

Adjusting to local frenchy fashion ๐Ÿ˜‰

asdaerrrr

Garand performed excellent again, still don’t know what caused the sporadic feeding problem I had on one game day. I’m starting to think it was a problem with the BBs. Marui 1911: perfect as ever, just need to get a new holster. Mine is starting to fall apart and after seeing the one sold by WPG I seriously need to get one of those too ๐Ÿ™‚

Some original 517th photos:

hhdzdss2

Check out the modded wool trousers

hhdzdss

hhdzdss3

That’s it for today, have a great weekend!

 

~ by m1pencil on September 27, 2014.

6 Responses to “517th PRCT Airsoft”

  1. Hey looks good. Can I ask you a question? I’m trying to gather the gear to do a WW2 3-gun someday. I’m debating the holster issue: Should I break down and get the 1916 waist holster, or should I get a shoulder holster (I’d probably get an M7 w/ the 2nd strap, but still debating the early-mid war M3)? I think I’m leaning towards the shoulder holster, if only because it’d be useful for other purposes, like deer hunting, long car drives, etc. I know your typical infantryman would never carry a pistol, but I seem to recall airborne types would carry one. What holster did they use and when? thanks in advance, ERIK

    • I have only researched airborne units in Southern France (509th, 517th, 551st). There it was extremely rare to see shoulder holsters, the vast majority being M1916 holsters, quite a few captured German holsters too.
      Don’t know much about the 101st and 82nd Airborne, maybe shoulder holsters were more common with those?

  2. What kind of camera do you use for these? Any post processing?

  3. Hello, your photos are beautiful! I’m French and I’m also the 517prct. I have to paint my new uniform M42. How green are you used for your? (it is perfect)
    Thank you for your response,
    Angelin

Leave a Reply

 
