“Flat Buckle” P41 Suspenders

p41s7

A relatively unknown and often overlooked piece of gear are the early P41 suspenders, they feature a flat buckle as opposed to the curved buckle used on later models.

p41s6

Top: curved buckle, bottom: flat buckle

p41s3

p41s5

Back

p41s4

Check out the following well-known Marine Raider photo:

p41s1

Close inspection reveals a… ta dah…. flat buckle suspender:

p41s2

Unsurprisingly the early suspenders are more difficult to find then the later curved buckle ones, but they are not SUPER rare. They fetch higher prices on eBay when described correctly though. Luckily (at least for the informed buyer) 😉 many sellers do not know the difference and simply list them as P41 suspenders. If you look closely at the auction photos you can find the early ones cheap.

~ by m1pencil on October 19, 2014.

6 Responses to ““Flat Buckle” P41 Suspenders”

  1. I have gotten 2 sets of flat buckle suspenders off of ebay. Both times the seller didnt know the difference between later ones and earlier ones. One pair has a Marines name stenciled on them.

  2. My dad is an old school west coast Marine. He would cut off the superfluous webbing and use the circle and clip as a belt. The gear he used was less khaki and more green. I imagine he used boyt 45 gear, probably left over from The Korea conflict.

  3. Dear Sir,
    What a wonderful source of information this site is to me.I am an Italian collector and I would like to ask you for information regarding the WWII USMC suspenders.
    I have three P 41 suspenders and in all of these I notice, at the end of a single strap, a dark mark along the entire margin (could it be glue?). It seems to me a system to not fray ( threads come loose ) the strap.
    Please could you be so kind to tell me if this is correct for WWII suspenders or it is characteristic of postwar straps?
    Thanks Marco

    • Ciao Marco!

      Yes I think it was done to seal of the strap so it would not fray, same thing was (is?) done to climbing ropes. To be honest I have not paid a lot of attention to this part before, I am currently travelling and can’t check my collection and sources, so it will be a while before I can come back with an answer if this was only done to postwar suspenders or not.

      • Many thanks for your kind and early reply.
        I am waiting for you skilled answer.
        Marco

        • I took a photo of a few of my suspenders, some have it and some don’t. I guess it depends on manufacturer/time frame: [img]http://i.minus.com/ibxCu0RH1pp6U5.jpg[/img]

Leave a Reply

 
