USMC M-450-1 Flight Helmet VMSB-231 “Ace of Spades”

M450-1 Flight helmet – Marine Scout-Bombing Squadron 231 “Ace of Spades”! During World War 2 VMSB-231 is best known for its participation in the battle of Guadalcanal and the Marshall Islands campaign. It is still active today as Marine Attack Squadron 231 (VMA-231). During WW2 the squadron was mainly equipped with Douglas SBD Dauntless dive bombers, for a short period in 1944 the squadron was redesignated VMBF-231 and converted to the F4U Corsair fighter. On December 30th 1944, it reverted to the name VMSB-231. I think by this time the squadron also used the Curtiss SB2C Helldiver

Flight helmet & Flight goggles

Telephonics Corporation Type TH 37 earphones

AN6530 Flight Goggles with green lenses

VMSB 231 marking on the inside

Finding a somewhat OK display head was an unexpected challenge 😯 Most heads are very small, crap quality & insanely ugly… still on the hunt for something really nice.

On to some VMSB-231 & VMA-231 photos. Douglas SBD-5

Douglas SBD-6 with mission markings for 85 bombing missions

“Ace of Spades”

Marine Attack Squadron 231 (VMA-231)

~ by m1pencil on January 23, 2022.

5 Responses to “USMC M-450-1 Flight Helmet VMSB-231 “Ace of Spades””

  1. Great find, though it looks like the lead for the jack has been cut off. VMA-231 was stationed at Cherry Point during the’70s and’80s flying AV-8s. Distinct possibility that I worked them as a FAC with the 2nd MARDIV. Semper Fi.

  2. Hey m1! I know this has nothing to do with the post that you made but i just want to say your page has been a big inspiration for my USMC impression. It’s still not close to being finished but it’s getting there! I just wish you the best of luck and hope you have to time to post again!

  3. Cool! Stumbled on link, my Uncle Ted Stepien was tailgunner in VMSB 231 in 44-45. Wish I still had his jacket and bring backs. Sadly my cousin who passed away had them last and they’ve disappeared. I recall once in 1970s and being a fan of TV show about VMF214 my Uncle brought out his flight jacket to show me. At least I still have a picture of him in it!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.