PAL RH-36 Knife

pal36

The PAL RH-36 was one of the most used “commercial” knives during Word War 2. Before the introduction of the K-Bar there was a serious lack of fighting/utility knives and quite many Marines purchased commercial hunting knives in order to overcome this shortage. Most did so through the PX system were the RH-36 was readily available. I guess they were also issued to certain units. Of course the PAL RH-36 was not just used by Marines in the PTO, it was popular with servicemen from all branches.

pl1bx

There are a few variations of this knife, this one has a bright blade. PAL also manufactured a version with a parkerized blade, probably late in WW2.

pl2x

Originally the knife was designed by “Remington Cutlery Company”, when the cutlery department of Remington was bought by PAL they kept original designation RH-36. RH stands for “Remington Hunting”, 36 being the model number (Blade Type 3, Blade Length 6″)

pl4x

The dull metal pommel seems to be a feature of wartime manufactured knives.

pl5x

Here is a nice pic of a pilot with his PAL RH-36. Note the PAL marked scabbard

rh5

And a Marine with what appears to be a RH-36. Could be a photo from the Korean war

rh6

PAL RH-36 knives are still fun to collect as they do not cost a fortune like some other WW2 knives and bayonets (yet?). Happy hunting! 😀

~ by m1pencil on March 11, 2013.

9 Responses to “PAL RH-36 Knife”

  1. I always had the impression this was issued gear to navy personnel, as it seems every sailor during the WW II era carried one. Thanks for the clarification!

    • There are also quite many pics of them in use from the ETO: Army, Aircrews… Though it is sometimes difficult to make out the exact type of knife as there were several civilian type hunting knives used. In some cases these might have been a mix of issued and privately purchased.

  2. I have PAL R-36,The blade is a little loose! Where can I get it fixed?

  3. Hi Please any experts on PAL RH 36. is This authentic?
    I just bought it but the grip is different from the ones I have seen but I mean the grip looks really well made is just that is different, why is that?

  4. My dad carried one after WW2 in RCAF, he carried it when he was a jump master.

  5. I accidented this blog. I was looking for info about my “PAL 36”.knife. I am a 76yr.old and still remember the horrors of WWII. I WATCHED the old movies because my father was an Army Air Corp pilot flying out of France into Germany. I then went to Berlin,Germany in 1949.Saw the OVENS and SHOWERS at a few of the CONCENTRATION CAMPS. That is one of my big complaints about the idiots that want to claim there was no HOLOCAUST.

  6. I have this knife and someone has carved a Gestapo lighting on one side of the Handel, on the other side of the of the Handel a double cross. ???

  7. I really hate to rain on the knife number format parade… but.
    I have heard the RH-36 broken down like that a few times. But I have a bit of a problem with the type 3 and 6″ blade part…
    There is a RH-28 that has 4½” stamped right into the blade.
    The RH-31 certain does not have a 1″ blade… The list of examples can go on and on.

    I think that the RH35 and RH36 are happy circumstances in regards to the blade length. Personally, I think that the number after the RH was simply a design or iteration number assigned by Remington at the time.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.